Nigerian States’ Budget Proposal for 2019

By February 22, 2019Economy

Earlier this year, the State Governments of Nigeria presented their 2019 budget proposal to the legislature. However, out of the 36 states in Nigeria, three states are still yet to present their budgets. The states are Cross River, Adamawa and Zamfara which are located in the South-South, North-East and North-West geo-political zones respectively.

Also, Lagos state from all the 33 states in the federation had the highest budget proposal which was earmarked at N852.3bn. This might be because Lagos consistently earns the highest revenue in terms of IGR(internally generated revenue) and is considered Nigeria’s economic capital. On the other hand, Nassarawa State presented the lowest budget across the nation which was earmarked at N86.64bn.

In addition, of all the six geo-political regions in Nigeria, the South West has the highest combined budget at N2.011trn. The combined budget of this region was accounted for by Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ondo and Ekiti state. However, this could still be overtaken by the South-South depending on Cross River state which is still yet to send its 2019 appropriation bill.

Still based on currently available report, the South South region presented the second highest budget proposal estimated at N1.967trn. This was followed by the North West with N1.053trn, North Central with N894.34bn and the South East with N870bn.

In comparison, the North-East region has the lowest combined budget at N676bn. However, these dynamics will be subject to whatever change the budget of Adamawa state will present when it is released.

Below, is the budget proposal presented by 33 Nigerian states.

State Budget Amount
Abia N139.5bn
Akwa Ibom N670.7bn
Anambra N157.1bn
Bayelsa N275bn
Bauchi N196.7bn
Benue N196.5bn
Borno N125.82bn
Cross River
Delta N367.09bn
Ebonyi N188.4bn
Edo N175bn
Enugu N109bn
Ekiti N129.9bn
Gombe N118.7bn
Imo N276bn
Jigawa N157.5bn
Kaduna N155bn
Kano N219bn
Katsina N201bn
Kebbi N151bn
Kogi N146.7bn
Kwara N157bn
Lagos N852.3bn
Nassarawa N86.64bn
Niger N159.5bn
Ogun N402bn
Ondo N190bn
Osun N152.7bn
Oyo N285bn
Plateau N148bn
Rivers N480bn
Sokoto N169.6bn
Taraba N146.7bn
Yobe N91.6bn
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments